The CoE

The CoE's greatest asset is its people—an eclectic group with experience from many walks of life. All CoE members have personal connections to firefighting and public safety and most have been active emergency responders. In addition, many CoE staff members have had careers or hold degrees or special knowledge in relevant areas. Click on the button below each team member's photograph to get to know us—better yet, stop by and visit!

Ben Miller
Ben MillerDirectorben.miller@state.co.us
Ben is a Colorado native, thought leader, husband, and father.
Brad Schmidt
Brad SchmidtWildland Fire Projects Managerbrad.schmidt@state.co.us
Brad is a wildland firefighter, communications and geospatial specialist, and Colorado native.
Garrett Seddon
Garrett SeddonUnmanned Systems Projects Managergarrett.seddon@state.co.us
Garrett is a public servant, firefighter, aviator, and soldier.
Bob Gann
Bob GannDeputy Directorbob.gann@state.co.us
Bob is a Colorado native, firefighter, and engineer.
Adam Trojanowski
Adam TrojanowskiEconomic and Policy Analystadam.trojanowski@state.co.us
Adam is an attorney, former police officer, and policy expert.
Ben Lawrence
Ben LawrenceTechnology Transfer Managerben.lawrence@state.co.us
Ben is a long-time first responder and a search-and-rescue subject matter expert.
Jessica Harstad
Jessica HarstadProgram Assistantjessica.harstad@state.co.us
Jessica is a Colorado native, editor, wife, and mother.
Dave Toelle
Dave ToelleAviation Projects Managerdave.toelle@state.co.us
Dave is a wildland firefighter, product of an Oregon ranching family, and devoted family guy.